The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir
Buy now for: HKD 216.00

Quantity

Buy now to receive the product on estimated date: 5th May 2017 (Fri).

Product Details

  • Published Date: 2017-03-14
  • Weight: 0.386 Kg
  • Reading Level: General (US: Trade)
  • Book Type: Autobiography: General

"A gorgeous, darkly humorous memoir for readers of Cheryl Strayed about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention, as well as a portrait of a generation used to assuming they're entitled to everything--based on this award-winning writer's New Yorker article 'Thanksgiving in Mongolia'"--

Stock Details and Delivery

Warehouse Stock Estimated Delivery Date
US Warehouse 1  US 1 137 5th May 2017 (Fri)
US Warehouse 2  US 2 448 6th May 2017 (Sat)

Synopsis

Product Description (Source: NBD):

A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention--for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion When thirty-eight-year-old New Yorker writer Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true. Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules--about work, about love, and about womanhood. "I wanted what we all want: everything. We want a mate who feels like family and a lover who is exotic, surprising. We want to be youthful adventurers and middle-aged mothers. We want intimacy and autonomy, safety and stimulation, reassurance and novelty, coziness and thrills. But we can't have it all." In this profound and beautiful memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being "a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses." Her own story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed--and of what is eternal. Advance praise for The Rules Do Not Apply "I read The Rules Do Not Apply in one long, rapt sitting. Unflinching and intimate, wrenching and revelatory, Ariel Levy's powerful memoir about love, loss, and finding one's way shimmers with truth and heart on every page."--Cheryl Strayed "Every deep feeling a human is capable of will be shaken loose by this profound book. Ariel Levy has taken grief and made art out of it."--David Sedaris "Ariel Levy is a writer of uncompromising honesty, remarkable clarity, and surprising humor gathered from the wreckage of tragedy. Her account of life doing its darnedest to topple her, and her refusal to be knocked down, will leave you shaken and inspired. I am the better for having read this book."--Lena Dunham "A great memoir is not a trip through someone else's life but a series of long looks into your own. Ariel Levy's book--grieving, hopeful, painful, funny--is that."--Amy Bloom "It's become a truism that feminists are living out our mothers' unlived lives. But Ariel Levy seems to be living out the unlived lives of an entire generation of women, simultaneously. Free to do whatever she chooses, she chooses everything. While reinventing work, marriage, family, pregnancy, sex, and divorce for herself from the ground up, Levy experiences devastating loss. And she recounts it all here with searing intimacy and an unsentimental yet openhearted rigor."--Alison Bechdel "The Rules Do Not Apply is heartbreaking, brilliant, and disarming, the kind of book that may change you. Ariel Levy writes with a beauty that is ferociously honest and with the fervor of an explorer. No one else has written so insightfully about the current legacy of feminism's 'lavish gift' of freedom. Levy has a voice unlike any other. This is a devastating and inspired book."--Rene Steinke

Product Review (NBD):

Advance praise for The Rules Do Not Apply "I read The Rules Do Not Apply in one long, rapt sitting. Unflinching and intimate, wrenching and revelatory, Ariel Levy's powerful memoir about love, loss, and finding one's way shimmers with truth and heart on every page."--Cheryl Strayed "Every deep feeling a human is capable of will be shaken loose by this profound book. Ariel Levy has taken grief and made art out of it."--David Sedaris "Ariel Levy is a writer of uncompromising honesty, remarkable clarity, and surprising humor gathered from the wreckage of tragedy. Her account of life doing its darnedest to topple her, and her refusal to be knocked down, will leave you shaken and inspired. I am the better for having read this book."--Lena Dunham "A great memoir is not a trip through someone else's life but a series of long looks into your own. Ariel Levy's book--grieving, hopeful, painful, funny--is that."--Amy Bloom "It's become a truism that feminists are living out our mothers' unlived lives. But Ariel Levy seems to be living out the unlived lives of an entire generation of women, simultaneously. Free to do whatever she chooses, she chooses everything. While reinventing work, marriage, family, pregnancy, sex, and divorce for herself from the ground up, Levy experiences devastating loss. And she recounts it all here with searing intimacy and an unsentimental yet openhearted rigor."--Alison Bechdel "The Rules Do Not Apply is heartbreaking, brilliant, and disarming, the kind of book that may change you. Ariel Levy writes with a beauty that is ferociously honest and with the fervor of an explorer. No one else has written so insightfully about the current legacy of feminism's 'lavish gift' of freedom. Levy has a voice unlike any other. This is a devastating and inspired book."--Rene Steinke

About Author (NBD):

Ariel Levy joined The New Yorker as a staff writer in 2008, and received the National Magazine Award for Essays and Criticism in 2014 for her piece "Thanksgiving in Mongolia." She is the author of the book Female Chauvinist Pigs and was a contributing editor at New York for twelve years.

Shopping Cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

Hot Toys

LEGO
LeapFrog
Star Wars
Skip Hop
Melissa & Doug
Hape Toys
Disney Frozen
Lamaze
Alex Toys